ICT

Sony at E3 2018: Watch live for more details on Spider-Man, Death Stranding and more – CNET

Sony has already telegraphed the fact that it’s going to focus on just 4 big exclusive games during its E3 2018 press conference tonight: Spider-Man, Death Stranding, Ghost of Tsushima and The Last of Us: Part II. Is the company lowering expectations ahead of time so they’ll be easy to beat? Maybe. 

But the truth is that the PlayStation platform doesn’t have anything to prove: With more than 70 million PS4 consoles sold worldwide, the company is thought to have a better than 2-to-1 margin versus sales of rival Xbox One. And Microsoft spent the bulk of its E3 presentation letting the world know that it’s focusing on exclusives more than ever before — to the point of buying up a slew of developers. But that’s a strategy that will take years to pay off.

Here’s what you need to know to watch the big Sony event tonight:

When?

  • Monday, June 11: 9 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, June 12: 11 a.m. AEST, 2 a.m. BST

Where?

Right here! We’ve embedded the livestream from our colleagues at GameSpot above, so you can follow along in real time. (The GameSpot live show will toggle over to the Sony livestream as soon as it starts.)

Alternately, you can watch via GameSpot’s YouTube stream.

The event itself is happening in Los Angeles, and the CNET team will be there on the ground.

What can we expect?

The four games listed above should get plenty of time in the spotlight, and Sony should have surprises galore. Here’s what we’re expecting:

  • Gameplay from Death Stranding
    The renowned developer of the Metal Gear Solid franchise, Hideo Kojima, might finally give us concrete details on his next project. The trailers thus far definitely look pretty weird, but certainly intriguing. Hopefully, we’ll get to see how it actually plays.
  • A tune-up for Spider-Man
    At this point, we know quite a bit about the upcoming PS4 exclusive Spider-Man, but more info to whet our appetites for its September 7 release would certainly be welcome. 
  • Lots of exclusives
    In addition to showing off more of the highly anticipated The Last of Us: Part II and the Samurai-focused Ghost of Tsushima, we just might see exclusive content for major cross-platform releases like Red Dead Redemption 2.
  • A bunch of other stuff
    Sony will likely show off plenty of new content for PlayStation VR. The GameSpot team is expecting a remake of another classic. Hopefully, Sony will surprise us with cool new  like they did with Horizon Zero Dawn a couple of years ago. 

Unfortunately, we don’t expect to see new hardware like the much rumored PlayStation 5. Sony’s consistently had great showings at E3 by focusing on a bunch of awesome games. This year should be no different.

What’s after Sony?

The PlayStation presentation is the next-to-last press conference before the doors officially open for E3 2018 on Tuesday. The big finale is the Nintendo Direct livestream, Tuesday, June 12 at 9 a.m. PT, noon ET:

E3 2018: What to expect: All the rumors and early news from the year’s biggest gaming show 

E3 2018 coverage at CNET: All of our E3 2018 coverage in one place

E3 2018 coverage at GameSpot: Wall-to-wall coverage of the show from our sister site, GameSpot

E3 2018 coverage at Giant Bomb: Still more commentary and news from E3, from our colleagues at Giant Bomb